Travel Tips

Month: January 2019


Shree Panch Dashnaam Juna Akhada

Juna is a Shaivite Akhada admired under the Dashnaami Sampraday (sect) established by Adi Shankaracharya. It is attached to the four mutts worshipped by Shankaracharya at Dwarka, Puri, Shringeri and Jyotirmath. Their greeting that they practice is Om Namo Narayan.

Shree Panchayati Akhada Niranjani

Shree Panchayati Akhada Niranjani has a great following in Allahabad. This group believes in Kartikeya (Son of Lord Shiva and Parvati). The Akhada is founded in 904 AD in Mandavi, Gujarat. After Juna, Niranjani it is said to be the second largest akhada. Niranjani Akhada also carries a 52-foot high holy flag in their camp in Kumbh Mela. The number 52 depicts the 52 houses of seers to which the Shaivite akhadas belong.

Shree Shambhu Panchayati Atal Akhada

The Akhada constitutes a 12-member administrative body with Shreemahant Swami Satyamgiri as the leader for the Kumbh Mela 2019 and claims to be among the three oldest akhadas. The akhada pray to Lord Ganesha and the sacred symbols of Surya Prakash Bhala and Bhairva Prakash Bhala.

Shree Panchayati Akhada Mahanirvani

They believe in Kapilmuni Maharaj and the holy symbols Surya Prakash Bhala and Bhairva Prakash Bhala.Shreemahant Yamunapurji Maharaj and Mahant Ravsevak Giri are heading the akhada.

Shree Panchayati Akhada Bada Udasin

The Akhada was established by Yogiraj Shree Nirvandev ji Maharaj in 1825 in Haridwar.  They have a 75-foot-high holy flag in Kumbh Mela. The members include Shree Mahant Maheshwar Das, Shree Mahant Raghumuni, Shree Mahant Durgadas and Shree Mahant Advaitanand.

Shri Panchayti Akhara Naya Udaseen

The akhada was founded in 1846 and Mahant Sudhir Das was the founder of the akhada. It practices varied customs, as compared most other monastic orders. The royal entry processions at Kumbh Mela have no acharya, no palanquin and no spears or arms.

Shree Panch Nirmohi Ani

Read More ... Read More